am I losing my voice

Why do I write? I feel discouraged this morning. I received my MS back from one of my beta readers with so many changes (she did an editing job on it) that I wonder why I bother to write. Many of the changes are justified. What worries me is that they change my voice, my quirkiness. 

I don’t have to do the changes. But I wonder if my writing would be better if I did. What do I keep? What part makes my writing unique while still being grammatically right.  How do I keep my voice. What would a professional editor change. Would they change it the way that this person did?

I will do the revisions. And make sure to keep my voice. Otherwise I risk losing myself.

At times writing is so darn difficult

 

Leave a Reply

