Announcing the book

Marketing is a real pain. Unfortunately it is something that has to be done. Selling yourself and your book, whether in front of a crowd that you know or a crowd of strangers is a challenge.

We had a cottage association meeting on Saturday where I took the opportunity to stand in front of 30-40 people and tell them about my new published book, ‘Travel Dreams and Nightmares’. During the meeting I was nervous and to calm myself I took deep breaths, tried to relax and went over in my mind what I wanted to say to them. It’s not easy to more or less boast about something you did. My voice wavered when I started my spiel and the more I talked the easier it got.

After the meeting a few told me they were going to buy the book. Many didn’t mention anything about it. It felt weird. Maybe they figured that if they talked to me they felt obliged to buy. Who knows.

So far I have had 6 confirmed sales. It doesn’t seem much but it’s better than none. I hope that if more of the cottage crowd buy they will let me know.

I will now concentrate on invitations to the book launch party.

I am also thrilled to see on Amazon that it is available in Europe.

One thought on “Announcing the book

  1. Congrats on your first 6 sales! I would be nervous too. I always fumble over my words when I try talking about my writing. I practice, but I still manage to stutter all over the place, lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

